Thank you to all those that applied for the 2019 Medavie HealthEd scholarship programs and congratulations to those who won!

The winners of the 2019 Medavie HealthEd Scholarship program are:

  • Amanda Paris was awarded $2000 from the John Rossiter Memorial Scholarship.
  • Brittany McFarlane was awarded $1000 from the John Rossiter Memorial Scholarship.
  • Todd Mulyk was awarded $1500 from Medline/Medical Mart Atlantic.
  • Ryan Brown was awarded $1500 from the Craig Desjardins Memorial Scholarship.
  • Kerri Costello was awarded $1000 from the Andrea Thompson Memorial Bursary.
  • Jessica Kerr was awarded $1000 from the Michael Edward Steeves Memorial PCP Bursary.

The scholarship application process usually opens in April where candidates are given a month to submit their documents. The committee meets every May to review all applications and submissions. Finalists may be asked to participate in an interview with the scholarship committee to help in making a final decision.

The scholarship committee is made up of the following individuals:

  • Dr. Jennifer McVey – Medavie HealthEd Medical Director
  • Karen Rossiter – Rossiter Family Representative
  • Janel Swain – Emergency Medical Care (EMC) Representative
  • Sarah Boudreau – Emergency Medical Care (EMC)
  • Colleen Carey – Emergency Medical Care (EMC)
  • Prema Cooper – Emergency Medical Care (EMC)
  • John Ferguson, VP Business Development Medavie EMS – Executive Sponsor and Acting Chair
  • Lisa Adams – Administrative Support
  • Brad Reid – Medavie HealthEd Program Manager
  • Tim Winchester – Communications Advisor

John Rossiter was a dedicated member of the paramedic community who gave as much as he could to the profession while bringing happiness to all of those he encountered along the way. John was a highly respected member of the paramedic community and during Hurricane Juan in 2003, John’s life was cut short in the line of duty. As someone who always went above and beyond to help those in need, the John Rossiter Memorial Scholarships are a way to preserve that legacy and continue helping people today, many years after his untimely passing.

We are pleased to announce the addition of the John Rossiter/Dalhousie University College of Continuing Education awards to this year’s program!

click here for more information or to apply

Andrea Lynn Thompson was an advanced air flight paramedic from Amherst, Nova Scotia who worked with EHS in Nova Scotia, and with Thunder Airlines in Ontario where she stayed until her untimely death. Andrea was loved, admired and respected for her knowledge, quest for learning, her ability to share that knowledge but mostly for her caring and loving ways. Andrea’s family were so humbled by the love and support that they received from her Paramedic families in Nova Scotia and Ontario that they chose to establish this bursary as a tangible way to help others – just as Andrea would have wanted.

click here for more information or to apply

Medline/Medical Mart is an innovative provider of quality medical products in the Canadian healthcare industry and has been providing exceptional service for over 30 years. Medline/Medical Mart is a strong supporter of continuing education and has generously provided an annual scholarship to assist Nova Scotia’s paramedics in achieving the educational goals. The Medline/Medical Mart Atlantic award is part of the John Rossiter Memorial Scholarship program and utilizes the same application process.

click here for more information or to apply

Craig Desjardins was an integral member of the paramedic community. An accomplished educator and respected leader, Craig was a Regional Support Supervisor with the Emergency Health Services Operations Leadership Team, contributing over 17 years of care in the communities he served.

As an Advanced Care Paramedic, a member of the Collaborative Emergency Centre Team, previous Provincial Clinical Development Paramedic and active volunteer in the community, Craig was known for his deep clinical knowledge, gift for teaching and commitment to higher education. The Craig Desjardins Memorial Scholarship will continue to honour his legacy and remind us to always strive to provide the highest level of care to our patients and communities.

click here for more information or to apply

Michael Steeves graduated from the Fredericton Campus of Medavie HealthEd, previously known as the Atlantic Paramedic Academy.  Mike will continue to be described with many positive adjectives but those that know him, worked with him and were helped by him will always remember him with fondness, laughter and with the biggest smile.  Paramedics meet people experiencing some of the worst moments in their lives and sometimes their last. We hope that you can be a little bit of light in their time of need and keep living the legacy Mike left behind.

click here for more information or to apply

Essay topics for for the John Rossiter Memorial, Craig Desjardins Memorial, and the Medical Mart Atlantic Scholarships this year include:

  • One simple definition of patient safety is the prevention of errors and adverse effects to patients receiving health care. While health care has continued to evolve it has also become more complex, with greater focus on new technologies, medicines, decision making and interdisciplinary collaboration. As a paramedic, please share what you can do to prevent errors and adverse effects, as well as advocate for the safety of your patients.
  • Ethical dilemmas often present themselves in the healthcare setting, including paramedicine. What are some examples of ethical dilemmas that a paramedic may encounter? How should a paramedic best approach these situations?
  • If there was an advancement you would like to see in the field of paramedicine, what would it be and why?